Significance Of The Nine Days Of Navaratri 2020

by Kisna Diamond & Gold Jewellery
Significance Of The Nine Days Of Navaratri 2020 - Kisna

Navaratri is a vibrant festival of nine nights celebrated in the most flamboyant manner all around India. The nine nights of traditional dancing complemented with glamorous ethnic wear makes Navaratri the most awaited celebration of the year. But amidst celebrating the festival, did it ever occur to you - why we wear certain colours on a specific day? What does it signify? Why is Navratri festival celebrated for nine days?

Well, this article will help you understand everything about this grandeur festival!

Navarati is the celebration that honours NavDurga avatars. Maa Durga who defeated Mahishasura is considered to be the protective mother who battles evil forces. This celebration of victory brings meaning to the nine days of festival performed with different customs and rituals.

1. DAY ONE – Grey Colour
Navaratri is embarked by the puja with Ghatasthapana, a ritual that symbolizes the feminine power. Considered to be the most significant ritual of Navaratri, the first night of the festival begins with the Puja of Maa Shailputri, daughter of the King of the Mountains. On this day people wear the colour grey as it refers to the quality of destruction.

2. DAY TWO – Orange Colour
The second night of Navaratri is the celebration of love and loyalty of Devi Maa Bhramacharini. Rudraksha is her most adorned ornament as she is renowned as a force of knowledge and wisdom. The colour orange is worn on this day to promote tranquillity, knowledge and brightness.

3. DAY THREE – White Colour
The third day of Navaratri stands for passion and love that brings vigour and vitality to the devotees of Maa Durga. This is why the devotees dress up with the colour white that offers a pure vibration of worship to the Goddess Chandraghanta.

4. DAY FOUR – Red Colour
On Navaratri's fourth day, richness and tranquillity are celebrated with passion. Devotees dedicate this day to Goddess Kushamanda by wearing the colour red that symbolises auspiciousness as well as anger.

5. DAY FIVE – Royal Blue Colour
The 5th day of Navaratri is the celebration of optimism and joy, people wear the colour royal blue, the colour of divine energy which is associated with Goddess Skandmata, mother of Kartikeya.

6. DAY SIX – Yellow Colour
On the sixth day of Navaratri, Goddess Katyayani is worshipped who symbolises new beginnings. To evoke the sense of new beginnings that is characterised with the celebration of cheerfulness, people wear the colour yellow.

7. DAY SEVEN – Green Colour
People wear the colour green on the seventh day that signifies that the person is down to earth. Goddess Kalaratri is worshipped who represents the enemy of darkness, the destroyer of dark energies and evil. The last 3 days of Navaratri are called Durgashtami, Mahanavami and Vijayadasami. On the last three days of Navaratri, people worship Goddess Durga, Mahanavami and Vijayashtami. The seeds of inner renewal are sown and nurtured to bloom.

8. DAY EIGHT – Peacock Green Colour
Devotees wear peacock green colour to receive the blessings of Goddess Mahagauri. The colour represents richness and wishes that get fulfilled by Maa Mahagauri who radiates peace and compassion.

9. DAY NINE – Purple Colour
Goddess Siddhidatri is worshipped on the last day of Navaratri where everyone wears the colour purple that expresses ambition, goal and energy. Devi Siddhidatri is the possessor of 26 different wishes that she can grant to her devotees.

The tenth day of Navarati is celebrated as Vijayadashami, famously known as Dussehra where idols of Maa Durga are immersed into the water body. Dussehra is the day to celebrate the victory of good over evil.

Kisna's family wishes you a Shubh Navratri!

Recent Posts